Attention English Teachers

Masz pomysł na grę planszową? Chciałbyś go kiedyś zrealizować? Chcesz się nim podzielić albo pomóc w realizacji jakiegoś pomysłu? Do dzieła!
TEFLGamer

Post autor: TEFLGamer »

Hi,

I'm an English teacher in Warsaw and I've been doing a lot of research and work recently on using board games to help student learn English. How many of you have tried the same thing? Any successes or failures? Recommendations? I've recently started a blog on the subject (if you're interested then just stick dot com at the end of my user name and you'll find it) and I'm really interested to see what other professionals are getting up to.

At the moment, my top ten is:

1) Snake Oil
Snake Oil is a party game where the players create a products to pitch to prospective buyers. The game is a lot of fun and it is extremely rich linguistically.

Good for practising: relative clauses, describing, pronunciation of compound nouns, linking ideas, clauses of contrast, negative inversion for emphasis, making a convincing pitch.

2) Deception: Murder in Hong Kong
In Deception: Murder in Hong Kong, players have to work together solve a murder case based on some clues that they are given. The kicker is that one of the players will be the murderer! In fact there are a total of 5 different roles available, and these are randomly allocated at the outset with each role playing quite differently.

Good for practising: comparing and contrasting, vocabulary (common, everyday items. Oh, and numerous causes of death), present speculation, making accusations, agreeing and disagreeing, making a persuasive argument, the passive for emphasising an action when the actor is unknown,giving a brief narrative.

3) Apples to Apples